Local Storage

Some websites that use Flash Player might want to store information locally on your device rather than on the web. Local storage can help save your progress on a site or tailor your web browsing to your preferences and activities.

About local storage

Information that is stored locally contains data that you want to save between web browser sessions, such as:

Some websites use a web browser feature called "browser cookies" to store text. Local storage in Flash Player is different. Unlike browser cookies, local storage can contain important non-textual data that requires more space, such as saved work or saved game progress. Local storage is stored in small files that are sometimes called local shared objects.

In general, the website you are viewing is the one that saves the information for later use. However, some websites might show one address in your browser's address bar but actually display pages and save information from another address. This is called third-party storage.

For example, suppose you are viewing the web page of a local restaurant at www.example.com. You decide you want to eat there, so you use a reservations tool on the page that uses Flash. Although www.example.com still appears in the address bar, the reservations tool could actually come from a different computer, such as reservations.example.com. Information stored from reservations.example.com is stored separately from information saved by www.example.com. Because the tool and the page come from different computers, the reservations tool is using third-party storage.

Back to top

How do I decide which option to select?

To take advantage of features that use local storage, such as saving high scores in a game or saving work in a document, allow local storage. Some websites need local storage enabled to run correctly. To make sure that all websites that use Flash Player work as designed, select Always.

If you have special concerns about privacy (saving any information on your device) or are worried about using up storage space on your device, select Never.

The Only from sites I visit option is available primarily for more technical users. If you want to ensure that no third-party shared objects are stored on your device, select this option. However, as explained in About local storage above, you might not always realize that the site storing the shared object is different from the site you are viewing. If you start experiencing difficulties with Flash Player sites running as designed, return to the Settings Manager and choose Always.

No matter which option you choose, you can always change your decision at any time.

Back to top

How do I delete any information that has already been stored locally?

About local storage, above, explains why Flash Player sometimes stores data locally (on your device) and describes the kinds of information stored (high scores, test responses, and so on). The Clear local storage option lets you delete any information that Flash Player has stored locally.

Be careful! If you think you might have stored important information you don't want to lose, don't clear locally stored data.

Back to top

Cache for Adobe-signed components

Adobe makes common website components, such as buttons, charts, and menus, available to website developers. When Flash Player recognizes these components, they can be saved on your device (or "cached") so that they don't have to be downloaded every time you visit a website. Storing these components on your device significantly reduces download times and allows faster viewing. If you do not want to store these components from Adobe and you want to delete any components that have already been stored in the cache, deselect this option.

You would generally clear the cache only when you need to free up space on your mobile device. To save bandwidth and time, keep this option enabled.

Back to top